Call it what it is, you Scalawag!

Ruffian, Scalawag, knave, and rapscallion made Merriam Webster’s “Top 10 Charming Words for Nasty People” list.

Reminded me how tricky I can be, in general, masking truly nasty behavior behind more charming descriptors.  Calling gossip a “prayer request”, for instance —

“…and she does this over and over again.  (sigh) She just looks idiotic! We should pray for her.”

click pic for source

I should call it what it is.

  A sin’s a sin.

I should own it and confess it.

Then I can comb my hair and go on, forgiven.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”  ~~1 John 1:9

Do you know the one who made Merriam Webster?  (Hint: not the book, the man.)  Well, since God IS love (1 John 4:8), by definition, He loves you. =]

 Click the pic below for a quick introduction.  Make knowing Him #1 on your “Top Ten” to-do list.”:


3 thoughts on “Call it what it is, you Scalawag!

  1. Oh my! I believe we both know the same person! She is a horrible gossip, but your comment about calling gossip a prayer request really hit home! I am at wit’s end, so much that I can’t even bring myself to pray for this person. What I really feel needs to be done is expose this person for the gossip she is so others won’t confide in her.

    • I will be praying for you. Here’s some verses that come to mind that may help: “If your brother sins against you, [fn] go and show him his fault, just between the two of you. If he listens to you, you have won your brother over. But if he will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.’ If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church; and if he refuses to listen even to the church, treat him as you would a pagan or a tax collector.” (Matthew 18:15-17)

  2. Thank you, Gloris! The person I spoke of is beyond confronting, though. She has her close-knit group of friends from church that they choose to call they’re ‘prayer chain’. Our pastor as well as deacons are a fairly timid group of men who would rather let things smooth out themselves as opposed to doing what the Word tells us. As I said previously, I can’t find it in myself to pray for this person right now. I’m at that point at the end of your scripture quote, treating them as a pagan or tax collector. I know, it’s sad.

Leave a Reply

