Water Retention

Pikes Peak wildflower, Barr trailAs we hiked along Pikes Peak (me slowly, my husband, Dave, at a stiffer pace) I stopped and snapped many pictures of all the pretty little daisies, columbines, lillies, and who-knows-whats blooming along the trail.  Eye candy for the slow and appreciative hiker.

You know, many wildflowers have to survive awhile without water.  They do it by clever means of water retention.  One way is by narrowing and closing off cells to keep the water from evaporating.

How’s your water retention?  When you get a drink from the well (the Bible) do you hold onto its wisdom?  There are several clever means of water retention for the Christian.  One is by memorizing what you read, the other is by doing what it says.Pikes Peak wildflower, Barr Trail Both will help you survive a dry spell.

Here’s a few sips you might wanna hang onto:

“For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper [in the thing] whereto I sent it.”  Isaiah 55:1-11, KJV

 “Thy word have I hid in mine heart (memorized), that I might not sin against thee.” Psalm 119:11

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice (obeys) is like a wise man who built his house on the rock.  The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. Matthew 7:24-25 NIV

Click on the Bible memorization link to the right for a handy list of verses to memorize.  Explore the site for helpful memorizing tips and lots of other inspirational stuff.

Leave a comment